1. Home
  2. >
  3. Marriage Licenses

Collier County Clerk of the Circuit Court
Recording Department – Marriage License
3315 Tamiami Trail East, Ste. 102
Naples, FL 34112-5324
Phone: (239) 252-2646
Email: Marriage Licenses

 

 

Marriage Licenses

The Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller acts as an Agent for the State of Florida to issue Marriage Licenses within Collier County, Florida; pursuant to Florida Statute 741.01. Clerk’s Recording Services offers Marriage License and Marriage Ceremony services. For Marriage Licenses and Ceremonies, you may visit the Recording Department on the 2nd Floor of the Collier County Courthouse or one of our Satellite Office Locations.

A Marriage License Is Only Valid For A 60 Day Period

The 60 day period begins on the issue date written on the license and ends on the expiration date written on the license. If a couple allows a marriage license to expire and they wish to be married, then they will need to apply for a new marriage license. Note: A Premarital Preparation Course is not required, but it can reduce the fee and effective date of a marriage license for Florida residents.

Marriage License Effective Date

When at least one party is a Florida resident, Florida Statute 741.04(5) requires a 3 day waiting period between the day the license is purchased and the day the license will become effective for the couple to marry. For a marriage to be valid, the ceremony must take place between the effective date and expiration date listed on the license.

Completing a premarital preparation course and presenting the certificate of completion to the clerk’s office will waive the three day waiting period when at least one of the applicants is a Florida resident. This will allow the couple to marry the day they purchase the license.

When both parties are non-Florida residents the waiting period does not apply.

Premarital Preparation Course

If a Premarital Preparation Course was completed, the Certificate should be presented to the Clerk while applying for a Marriage License. Premarital Preparation Courses are not provided by the Clerk.

Obtaining A Marriage License

The couple applies in person at the Clerk’s office with proper identification. Both applicants are required to appear in person and provide the Clerk with proof of the following:

  • Identification: Driver’s License, State ID, Military ID or Passport
  • Age: both parties are at least 18 years old
  • Social Security Number: U.S. Citizens must provide their Social Security Number
  • Non U.S. Citizens may provide a Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Service
  • A Passport is an acceptable form of ID for Non U.S. Citizens

Biological Child In Common

Applicants who are both the biological parent of a minor child/children, born within the State of Florida should complete the Affirmation of Common Children form and present it to the Clerk at this time.

Payment

Cash, Card, Check, or Money Order made payable to the Clerk of Court.

Family Law Handbook Requirement

While applying for a Marriage License, the couple will be presented with the Family Law Handbook which outlines the Rights and Responsibilities of parties to a Marriage.

Marriage Ceremony

A Florida Marriage License allows a couple to get Married anywhere in Florida, regardless of the County the License was purchased from. Marriage Ceremonies can be performed by a Florida Notary Public, an Ordained Clergy, or for your convenience, Collier County Deputy Clerks are authorized to perform Marriage Ceremonies for a $30.00 fee.

The Ceremony can take place as soon as the marriage license is effective.

Recording the License after the Marriage Ceremony

Once the Marriage Ceremony has been performed, a Collier County Marriage License is to be returned to the Collier County Clerk to Record into the Official Records. A Marriage License obtained in Collier County is valid for the Marriage to be performed anywhere in Florida, but a Collier County Marriage License must be Recorded in Collier County.

Once the Completed Marriage License is recorded, the Clerk will provide one Certified Copy to the couple without charge. Additional Certified Copies can be purchased for $3.00 each. These will be mailed after the verification process has been completed. To have a completed Marriage License recorded, visit the Recording Department on the 2nd Floor of the Collier County Courthouse or mail it along with a stamped, self-addressed envelope to our office.

Viewing Marriage Licenses

Collier County Marriage Licenses from 1990 through the present date are available to view and/or print on the Clerk’s Official Records site at www.collierclerk.com.

Marriage Licenses may also be viewed and copies purchased in Recording Department on the 2nd Floor of the Collier County Courthouse, or one of our Satellite Office Locations.

You Are Now Leaving Our Website

Links to external, or third-party websites, are provided solely for visitors’ convenience. Following links to other sites is done so at your own risk and the owners of this website accept no liability for any linked sites or their content. Any link from our site to an external website does not imply that we endorse or accept any responsibility for its use. It is important for users to take necessary precautions, especially to ensure appropriate safety from viruses, worms, trojans, and other potentially destructive items. Users should review the privacy policies of external websites and other terms of use to learn more about what, why, and how they collect and use any personally identifiable information.